Round 1 Match 19 and 20

Polls Closed

AstroNerdBoy 68% vs 32% ěk-sěn’trĭk

GAR GAR Stegosaurus 62% vs 38% Project Saber

AstroNerdBoy and GAR GAR Stegosaurus advance to the next round

Polls closing tomorrow: Just as planned vs Moe Check! and Rainbowsphere vs JanaiBlog

Closed polls

A Product of Wasted Time 41% vs 59% chaostangent

見ないで! ひとり言 49% vs 51% Caraniel’s Ramblings

chaostangent and Caraniel’s Ramblings advance to the next round

Tomorrow: Blue Blue Wave vs Fuzakenna and Metanorn vs Oishii Anime

58 thoughts on “Round 1 Match 19 and 20

  1. I forgot Xiao’s blog (ek-sen’trik) was in this. Her blog stands out in one major regard: she hosts SoMT, which is sorta like a shoujo ver of ISML that the shoujo-mangosphere is pretty tapped into \o/

    • Thanks for pointing out Xiao is a girl, I somehow missed that. This helped me decide because it was a close call between these blogs based on content.

      In the Red corner we have Xiao, a cute female anime blogger in a world that badly needs moar cute female anime bloggers.

      In the Blue corner we have AstroNerdBoy, a 40-year old male anime blogger (sauce). Knowing anime fans, I’m guessing he’s probably a fat guy at that age.

      DRUMROLL!
      And the winner is XIAO!
      Well duh, of course I’m going to pick a cute female over a 40-year old fat guy!

      Don’t give me any sh*t about calling people fat, I’m overweight myself so I know what’s in my future. I wouldn’t vote for myself over a cute girl either, lol.

      • “Well duh, of course I’m going to pick a cute female over a 40-year old fat guy!”

        *LOL* How do you know she’s not a 40-year old fat girl? ^_~

        Thanks for the laugh though. ^_^

      • For the record, A Day Without Me of GAR GAR Stegosaurus is also a girl. In fact, she’s a shy virgin under 18 years old who only feels comfortably around geeky nii-chans, refers to herself in the third person, and attaches “uguu~” to everything she says.

      • I voted for the girls ^_^ GAR GAR was a clear winner. AstroNerd was in contention against ěk-sěn’trĭk until I saw him insulting Haruhi fans by likening us to Kool-Aid drinkers. My friend, hate the anime, not those who like it -_- At least we’re not obsessing over some ancient history like TenchiO_o

  2. I’m surprised that GAR GAR Stegosaurus got a rank that rounds up to 100. It’s been one of my favorite blogs for about 2 years now. Does nobody else read it?

  3. I go to AstroNerdBoy’s blog for his Negima manga spoiler stuff and I used to think he was cool until I happened to read his cuckoo rant about how it was the “progressives” who forced FUNimation to make the Dance in the Vampire Bund edits. After that it’s hard for me to take the guy seriously anymore, I mean his politics are based on what he hears on the Glenn Beck Program. I still go there for the spoilers but I can’t vote for him. I had not read ěk-sěn’trĭk before but it looks like a nice blog so I voted for it.

    • Whoa, holy @$%#! The guy who wrote that rant is nuts in a very unfunny way. This is why we need legalized weed. My family are all Democrats and we sure as hell don’t think the way this guy believes we do.

      Okey dokey, on to real business. I agree that GAR GAR is good, but I still like Saber better. eksentrik has such a cute manner, but plenty of substance too. Saber and her for me.

      • Hahaha, I mean we need legalized weed so people like him can mellow out, not for my family like my bro just said this sounded like. But we’ll gladly take some too😛

      • Heh. Most people saw “progressive” and immediately made assumptions that weren’t in the article and that I went out of my way to point out that I wasn’t saying. That’s OK though. ^_^ It was a great learning experience for me.

  4. GAR GAR Stegosaurus is one of the best blogs out there in my humble opinion. I’m still waiting to do that podcast with her, but shit…

    Project Saber, however….good blog indeed. Just not as bad ass as adaywithoutme.

  5. ::Admin Edit::

    I actually found the thread that proceeded this hilarious, but it’s derailing the entire comment thread and just a bunch of personal attacks.

    • To be fair, you should have left some record that one of the competing bloggers, AstroNerdBoy, was involved in some petty mudslinging with some guy with clarly no love lost between them. Just so there’s no confusion, this didn’t have much to do with the contest, unless we want to hold it against someone that they acted like a douchebag. But we don’t, as this is supposed to be about the blogs, not the blogger’s personal problems.

      • No, he definitely isn’t making this up… Not just your everyday dorama either, very SRS BZNS like threats to involve law enforcement even… LOL.

        Which reminds me I haven’t voted yet with all this excitement. Maybe I’ll vote for AstroNerdBoy to make him feel better after he got so upset about that other guy telling people to vote for ěk-sěn’trĭk because of that Tenchi beef they had. And now it looks like someone else is campaigning against him. Damn, I never would’ve guessed that in this day and age Tenchi fans are where the DORAMA is at. His blog is not half bad, I must say, except for the fugly template.

  6. GAR GAR Stegosaurus is an excellent blog – always enjoy reading their posts.

    ěk-sěn’trĭk I hadn’t come across before, but really liking browsing through the posts – gets my vote!

  7. Finally some genuine interwebs drama! Everyone’s been so boringly polite during the previous bouts. I hope the mods will leave this be, because then I can point my friends here to laugh at a couple of egofags making themselves look like total douches. Who the hell gives a damn about Tenchi anymore???

  8. I like Ek-sen-trik better, she has the cuter blog and more pictures :3 and the second one..GAR GAR Stegosaurus is pretty awesome, but I’m more familiar with project saber so yeah..

  9. I urge people to vote against AstroNerdBoy, unless you want to support a for-profit anime blogger who uses free hosting and therefore has no legitimate use for ad revenue received from blogging anime and manga he also downloads for free. I for one can’t support someone whose game consists of making a buck on what’s been given to them for free — and illegally, if any of us cared about that — by other fans, things like fansubs, scanlations, and spoiler pics. If he at least had to pay for his own hosting he’d have some excuse.

    There was some previous discussion of this here already at https://aniblogtourney.wordpress.com/2010/04/23/some-changes-in-competitors/#comment-476. Despite some people here, including our gracious host Scamp, thinking I’m an ass for insisting on this, I have to make this stand on principle.

      • *lol* Yeah, ’cause I never talk about anything but Tenchi. It’s all-Tenchi, all the time and my blog proves that beyond a shadow of a doubt. ^_^

        Now, click my ads so I can buy more Tenchi and support the industry like the guy at Bang Zoom said! ^_~

    • I think he has a legitimate use for ad revenue. Not everything put into his blog is not given to him for free. For one, his opinions and writings are not plagiarized off another, and ideas can be the most expensive thing. Further, the effort of keeping a blog is not “given to him” either. Lastly, I don’t know if you keep your own blog, but consistently doing so takes a large amount of time for many people, and time is hardly free.

      I can’t speak for AstroNerd, but I doubt he’s a “for-profit” blogger. If he wants to make a buck, there are far easier and better-paying things to do than blogging. If he happens to get some extra change for exercising his hobby, what’s the harm?

      With that said, I voted for ek-sen-trik because I found the ads on Astro a bit distracting to the overall layout.

      • Yes, clearly he spends time writing his blog, but so does every other anime blogger and for some reason the majority have the good ethic of not charging anyone for their personal hobby and love of anime. If you start taking money for it for no legitimate reason, I firmly believe you’re no longer an honest fan as you inevitably begin tweaking things to earn more instead of expressing your true heart as a fan.

        You said you didn’t like the way the ads influenced the layout, now imagine if every anime blog had ads. Not the kind of thing we want to encourage, I think.

      • @anonymous: I see your point. I still think you can be an honest fan and still get ad revenue, but I think it’s really just up to the individual. Undoubtedly, some will sell out; yet many won’t.
        “You said you didn’t like the way the ads influenced the layout, now imagine if every anime blog had ads. Not the kind of thing we want to encourage, I think.”
        There are blogs that integrate ads very well. For me, the argument is really one about aesthetics rather than principle. I’m not going to vote against anyone for having ads. I will vote against someone if he has ads that do not appeal to my aesthetics of blog design.

      • That’s a good point about losing your true heart to tweaking. I complained to AstroNerdBoy not too long ago about how he never releases posts when he’s done writing and always schedules them for later so there’s never a long interruption if he’s busy later. I don’t understand that kind of calculation because what’s the big deal if you don’t have any posts for a day or two? Every blogger has that happen sometimes and readers don’t abandon blogs that quickly.

        The funny thing is, because of this scheduling, his posts are always several days behind the cycle and that probably hurts his blog more than having posts every day helps him. He said he just likes to have daily posts but I still suspect it has something to do with stuff like search engine rankings and how the ads work. I wish he cared less about that and just ran his blog naturally like most other people.

      • “Yes, clearly he spends time writing his blog, but so does every other anime blogger and for some reason the majority have the good ethic of not charging anyone for their personal hobby and love of anime. ”

        Who’s charging for access to my site other than Google charging me (which they do since I have ads up)?

        “If you start taking money for it for no legitimate reason, I firmly believe you’re no longer an honest fan as you inevitably begin tweaking things to earn more instead of expressing your true heart as a fan.”

        What is a “legitimate reason?” *lol* I guess you don’t visit Chris Beveridge’s section of Mania.com then, eh? ^_~

        “I will vote against someone if he has ads that do not appeal to my aesthetics of blog design.”

        That’s a legitimate reason IMO. I possibly should look at the layout again.

        “I don’t understand that kind of calculation because what’s the big deal if you don’t have any posts for a day or two?”

        *lol* That’s just a personal choice on my part. I like having new content out there every day.

        “The funny thing is, because of this scheduling, his posts are always several days behind the cycle and that probably hurts his blog more than having posts every day helps him.”

        If you are referring to my being behind on things like “Angel Beats!” or “Fullmetal Alchemist,” I’d be behind either way and by the same amount of time. Why? Because my schedule is such that I can’t watch anything, often for days on end. So, when you see either Angel Beats! or FMA show up, at best, it would have shown up a few hours earlier than the scheduled time if I immediately released them.

        “I still suspect it has something to do with stuff like search engine rankings and how the ads work. I wish he cared less about that and just ran his blog naturally like most other people.”

        The timing of the postings can’t help with the search engine rankings, which only goes on content. The ads are also not effected by timing because they too are based on content. Sorry to disappoint you like that, but that’s that.

        If you want to accuse me of something, you could say that I’ve “programmed” some regular readers into knowing that I’ll have fresh content daily and usually at the same time each day.

        “If you read his blog at all, you’d know that he buys the Negmia manga over here, and other things.”

        Actually, I double dip on “Negima!” I own all of the Japanese tankoubons and all of the Del Rey volumes. That’s why this nonsense talk about me always talking about Tenchi makes me laugh. A quick look at my blog shows I blog about Negima! way more than anything else. Tenchi has a scant few mentions and only three entries at present (not counting my blogging the ISM canon spinoff).

        “Speaking of the stuff he buys, he then invariably throws up a link to that product with his Amazon affiliate ID at the top of his review.”

        Yes, because God forbid that I promote the purchasing of legitimate products. *lol*

        “Wanna bet that sort of thing makes a difference in what you write about a product?”

        Oh, you mean like the times I slam stuff and still have a link to Amazon on it?

        http://astronerdboy.blogspot.com/2009/09/phantom-dream-manga-volume-3-review.html

        There are more, but had you done some actual research, you would have discovered this yourself. ^_~

        “But why on earth would anyone keep sticking their affiliate ID into those links when it serves no purpose?”

        “Clearly he expects the ban to be lifted at some point and all these pre-loaded links will come in handy then.”

        So?

        BTW, here’s a bit of trivia. Back when I only ran a comic strip gateway site, it was Amazon that came to me and said I should become an affiliate since I was already linking comic strip books back then. That was over 10-years ago if I recall correctly.

        “Anon, they’re…about the same. Also, he does buy some anime as well.”

        Some? *lol* You should see my anime DVD collection. ^_^; My budget these days is VERY limited, but I still buy. Granted, I have some anime given to me as gifts, and sadly, it is all still unwatched ’cause I’m just that far behind.

        “Are you going to start railing against them as well?”

        Nope. I’m the only one in the whole universe who cannot have ads nor Amazon links. *lol*

        I do appreciate your defense of me, Janette. Thank you. ^_^ I have a lone “fan” who obsesses over me. The joys of being known on the Internet, I suppose.

        BTW, I would like to thank all those who stopped by my blog today, even if you didn’t vote for me. And I’d like to thank the AniBlog staff for running this ’cause I’ve rather enjoyed checking out other blogs I’ve never heard of before. ^_^

    • he buys stuff, yo.

      If you read his blog at all, you’d know that he buys the Negmia manga over here, and other things.

      It’s nice to has values, but please do your research if you’re going to support them.

      • Yes, he buys stuff and don’t we all, but that’s only a tiny portion of everything he covers in his blog. If you want research, compare how many comments he gets on the stuff he doesn’t buy compared to the stuff he does buy. The vast majority of his material and traffic very obviously comes from the stuff he gets for free.

        Speaking of the stuff he buys, he then invariably throws up a link to that product with his Amazon affiliate ID at the top of his review. Wanna bet that sort of thing makes a difference in what you write about a product? Of course now after Amazon banned his home state from the affiliate program due to legislation issues, he has claimed that this isn’t about getting paid. But why on earth would anyone keep sticking their affiliate ID into those links when it serves no purpose? Clearly he expects the ban to be lifted at some point and all these pre-loaded links will come in handy then.

      • Anon, they’re…about the same. Also, he does buy some anime as well.

        And do you really honestly think he made money from those? Do you know how these programs work, and the particular amazon program works? It’s not different then the J-list program, really. How many blogs out there have a link to j-list as part of their program. Are you going to start railing against them as well?

        I can tell you, he’s not getting rich off it, or getting rich off any of the advertising. Nor is he the only blog to do is–Sankaku Complex, for example. And considering that he’s encourages buying the legit materials over here, I’m pretty sure part of the reason to link to amazon is encourage his readers to do. Not many people buy legit materials.

        Personally, I’m going to blunt and say this. I think you are unfairly persecuting AstroNerdBoy for something, that while I’m not denying he does it, he sure as heck isn’t the only one. It’s not right to pick on one person, if you’re going to insist on this, you need to go the whole way, and form your blacklist of blogs. Otherwise, shut up, and stop picking on AstroNerdBoy in particular. That’s not cool dude, and you should be ashamed of yourself.

        As it is, unless the tournament manager says otherwise, continuation of only targeting AstroNerdBoy and spewing hate against him will result in your posts being deleted from this blog. It’s being unfair to AstroNerdBoy. If you want to come back with you argument, fairly arguing against all blogs who keep use this practice, I won’t delete the comments. I cannot allow you to attack a single blog. Do you understand?

      • Janette, what exactly would you like me to do? I can’t believe you’re actually inviting me to start complaining about random blogs that aren’t involved in this tournament. Yes, I believe any blog that uses these kinds of tactics without good reasons is tainted and I have doubts about the honesty of those fans. I give leeway to those who pay for their own hosting and bandwidth, because then it’s reasonable to recoup those costs somehow. But if it’s evident that they want to make money on top of that, they become suspect as fans to me. It’s not wrong to make money, but it’s wrong to pretend to be a simple fan when your intentions are different. You mentioned Sankaku, well known as trolls looking for clicks and numbers to cash in on. You can rest assured that I’d be dead set against including them in this tournament.

        The reason I’m “persecuting” AstroNerdBoy is because it’s a blog and a blogger I know well and I very much dislike the pretense that money has nothing to do with anything there. You’re welcome to explain to me why it’s necessary to include your affiliate ID in the Amazon link if you simply wish to get people to buy legit goods. If AstroNerdBoy came out and admitted making money is a factor in how he does things at his blog, I could perhaps let it slide more easily. Instead, he always denies it — and then I see him talking somewhere else about the best ways to monetize a blog. I can’t stand sneakiness like that and I think it’s wrong to let such blogs reap the traffic benefits a contest such as this one affords them.

      • I’m not saying don’t complain around random blogs not in the tournament, but don’t single out one that is. And don’t make exceptions. What difference should it make that they have hosting fees to pay? Should that make what they’re doing anymore legal? What if AstroNerdBoy had fees to pay? Maybe not for his blog, but you know, to use the internet? To pay for his electricity? Stuff we all have to pay? We all have expenses that blogging to some extent generates.

        Whether you like his methods or not, whether what he’s doing is right or not, is not the issue. Especially when he’s not the only blog that does it. We’ve asked people not to attack other blogs, you are, tournament staff have asked you to stop, and you just continue to argue with us. That is the precise issue here.

        It’s a delicate line, I know. I’m all for argument and discussion, and if this was about if blog should use ads, then I’d stay out of it. But no. This is a grudge you have against ANB and You. Need. To. Stop.

      • If that’s the way you feel, I can stop no problem. Consider this my last post in this thread.

        -mod has deleted the rest as he/she did not stop. Stop means stop guys.-

      • Bummer, the mods have shut down the DORAMA again and this time it was even on a relevant topic, not just douches egofagging over Tenchi like the earlier stuff.

        I don’t see why they(=Janette) have taken up championing the guy as though he can’t speak for himself. Whatever the dispute is about, any blogger good enough to be in this tourney should be able to articulately stand up for themselves. I’ve seen much worse in the blogoshpere without people running to mommy and daddy for protection. Wake me up when things get interesting again…

      • Simple.

        It wasn’t relevant so much as this guy wanting to be a douche to AstroNerdBoy, and ANB alone, and we don’t allow personal attacks on other blogs. It was not a discussion, as I clarified, and clarified that I would not have been involved if it was, but an attack.

        Why? It’s not a matter if they can defend themselves. It’s a matter that being attacked isn’t nice.

        Also, bitching about me where I can see it. You’re so mature. After all, this isn’t about creating drama to entertain you, even if you think it is. At least be smart enough to bitch about me where I can’t see, or bring up the issue you have with me directly.

      • Ahem, I thought I did bring up the issue with you directly by “bitching about you where you can see it”? Doing it behind your back would have been immature, not this.

        As for the “drama to entertain me”, did you happen to see that I was responding to Kurogane who certainly seemed to approve of it as well, as did Jinx, as did Scamp with the earlier clash even though he deleted it for professional reasons. The tourney and the voting shouldn’t be about the drama, but some drama in the discussion of it makes things more interesting. Just having a bunch of “I voted for X and Y” posts is boring as hell when so few people bother to elaborate much on why, and it seems most of them just vote for the blogs they already knew.

      • You did not respond directly to me to disagree with what I was doing. No. You were talking on a separate thread. That’s talking about me without bringing it up directly.

        I am only doing what I suppose to do. I do not think drama in the discussion is a good thing, and I’m sorry you find it boring unless people are being dicks to each other. Scamp already told this guy to stop or he’d be blocked on a different topic.

        I feel like we do have a responsibility to the blogs in the tournament, while the blogs may be critiqued, the bloggers should not be subject to personal attacks, and this is something that was agreed on by the mods as a whole–I think.

      • Oh please, Janette. I was sure you didn’t want that particular thread to continue so I didn’t add to it. Instead I responded two tiny posts down from the end of that thread so there was no way you wouldn’t have seen it immediately. At first I just wrote “they” to express my general feeling, but then considering it was really you, I added your name. You’re using silly semantics to begrudge me something irrelevant.

        I actually agree with you that personal attacks aren’t a good thing and in fact they aren’t necessary to have the kind of drama I like. I also think it’s difficult to separate a one-man blog from the blogger and if Anon had an issue with how the blog was being run, it’s almost impossible not to get into personal territory with that. I thought the issue itself was legit and you seemed to think so as well. In the first clash there was nothing but personal attacks so I understand why that one was shut down and removed, it’s just too bad because the douchebag action was hilarious as Scamp said. I might add that AstroNerdBoy proved there he could be just as much of a douche as the next guy.

        I hope that explains my views because to be frank I’m not too interested in continuing to talk about this, because if I do I’ll no doubt end up getting conflated with Anon. In case anyone still cares, I did vote for AstroNerdBoy to reward him for entertaining me and because all the HAUU OMOCHIKAERII screaming at ěk-sěn’trĭk makes it downright unreadable.

      • You know, Janette, it’s so totally mature to call me immature for not coming “directly” to you and then go tweet f-bombs and call me a jerk and an asshole behind my back as I was just informed. I know you will delete this, but I just wanted to say that I love your idea of civility.

      • I am not using silly semantics. What you did wasn’t cool. You could have responded and spoke to me directly.

        I’ve said this how many times? It was not a legit issue. It was a personal attack. He was not interested in talking about other blogs and advertising as a wh-you know what? You don’t care. In you’re mind, you’re right and I’m the big bad mean mod, it doesn’t matter my argument. If you wish, you can read my argument and refute it, but no, you don’t. I’m sick of explaining myself.

        Nor am I going to explain again how bloggers have a right to feel like they won’t suffer personal attack REGARDLESS OF WHETHER THEIR ETHNICS ARE AGREEABLE OR NOT IN YOUR EYES.

        And what I said on twitter wasn’t for you to see on purpose, and you obviously sought it out, as it you had, you’d know, that while my action weren’t professional, that is my personal twitter, and I’m under a lot of a pressure right now. Unlike you, who bad mouthed me so I could see it, I bad mouthed you because I was angry. You’re being a pain in the butt, having been to rude to me.

  10. Voted for Project Saber because I’m more familiar. Also because he goes to the same university as I do, though I don’t know who he is irl.
    ek-sen-trik because I like her layout more and because of SoMT.

  11. Ok people complaining about other people getting stuff for free… most blogs out there stream their anime they watch and review from other websites why? because its not out in america thus u can say prolly 99% of people blog about stuff they watch for free so why dont we all get along and stop fighting its very childish.

  12. I was going to write a comment about the tournament, but then I realised this wasn’t about the tournament anymore.

    Whatever, AstroNerdBoy’s layout is a real eyesore for me and GAR GAR Stegosaurus is awesome.

  13. I only have 2 things to say: Dramafag and Anonymous…… Aren’t you guys too young for the kindergarten teacher let you use the grown-up’s computer?

    Sheesh, trolls.

  14. Pingback: A quick big thank you and temporary slow down. « ěk-sěn’trĭk

  15. Alright, this has continued far enough.
    Excessive attacks on a single blog, posts covering the same topic over and over again, and now one of our mods is personally distressed? I think it’s time we ended this.
    If you feel a need to dispute this decision, feel free to send an e-mail to ME. No one else but myself.
    Anything sent to someone else will be forwarded to me anyway~

    Comments closed.

  16. Pingback: Round 1 Match 31 and 32 « Aniblog Tourney

Comments are closed.